Operating Units

Accounting and Financial Services

Associate Vice Chancellor Finance/Controller: J. Michael Allred
Provides accounting, financial reporting, procurement, tracking, and delivery of materials, supplies and equipment campus-wide.

Budget and Institutional Analysis

Associate Vice Chancellor: Kelly Ratliff
Advises the Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor and other campus executives as to the efficient and effective management of campus operating budget resources. Is the administrative home for the budget office which has a dotted-line relationship to the Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor. Includes the campus Institutional Planning and Analysis unit.

Campus Planning and Community Resources

Assistant Vice Chancellor: Bob Segar
Responsible for the campus long range development plan, physical design framework, operations related to the campus landscape and grounds, and operations that promote the campus as a destination. This unit includes:

Capital and Space Planning

Director, Christine McUmber
Advises and assists the Chancellor and Provost with the planning, oversight, and allocation of future and existing capital improvements on the UC Davis campus.

Design and Construction Management

Assistant Vice Chancellor/Campus Architect: Clayton Halliday
Provides project management services to deliver large and small construction projects in support of the campus capital improvement program.

Environmental Stewardship and  Sustainability

Assistant Vice Chancellor: Camille Kirk (acting)
Reviews the environmental impacts of UC Davis development projects, develops mitigation measures for potential impacts, oversees an on-going mitigation monitoring program and provides leadership for campus sustainability efforts.

Facilities Management

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Facilities Management:
Allen Tollefson
Responsible for the operation, maintenance and repair of buildings and building systems at UC Davis. This unit also includes:

Fire Department

Fire Chief: Nathan Trauernicht
Safeguards lives and property through prevention education and emergency and response.

Human Resources

Acting Chief: Brenda Rebman
Sustains the campus workforce through recruitment, benefits administration, labor-relations services, mediation, and professional development.

Organizational Excellence

Director: Lisa Terry
Offers a broad range of organizational development and business process improvement services.

Police Department

Chief of Police: Matt Carmichael
Ensures campus security through law enforcement, investigation, crime prevention and emergency planning.
Note: ARM provides administrative support to the department; the Chief reports to the Provost/EVC.

Safety Services

Associate Vice Chancellor: Jill Blackwelder Parker
Maintaining a safe and healthy environment, preparing the campus community to manage emergencies and disasters, and managing risk.

Shared Services Center

Director: Sara Reed
Provides a range of finance, human resources, and payroll services to campus administrative divisions.


Director: Allen Tollefson (Acting)
Maintains the infrastructure needed to produce and deliver utility services to campus buildings, including electricity, natural gas, domestic water, sewerage and refuse collection and disposal.